This is what depression feels like #1

I am just coming out of a particularly insidious episode of depression. It occurred to me the other day that depression, in its mutated chameleon way, is like a twisted version of Maleficent.

For the last month and a half, she’s dangled me by her strings, like a puppet. Whatever feelings she left me with she hijacked and distorted into a completely false set of beliefs about my life. I hung there, helpless, unable to access who I really was. And I had the feeling she was enjoying it all.

She now has her bags packed by the door and I’m about to fumigate the guest room in my head until the next visit. Oh yes, I know there’ll be another visit. The next time, disguised as who knows what.

Leave a Reply

