Let’s ban Christmas presents! (err…except for kids)

So, I’ve been thinking a lot recently about sticking it to the Man. And part of that is feeling obligated to step onto the ever more grotesque and hideous Christmas buying treadmill.

As we all know, the older you get, the faster time seems to pass (yeah another thing that sucks). It really does feel as if last Christmas was only 6 months ago and I’m just NOT READY for another one. That is when, from deep within my being, I heard a voice which told me; “NO F***ING MORE”. Let me tell you, when you hear that voice, you just don’t ignore it.

I debated whether or not to share these somewhat taboo thoughts. You’ll be seen as mean-spirited, grinch-like, anti-Christmas, thought I. Well bite me, said the anti-Man voice. So, after a beer or two the other night, I awkwardly broached the subject with friends. To my amazement I received wholehearted support. There was almost relief that these dark thoughts had been aired publicly.

So, this Christmas, I will be quite happy to dole out hugs, warm words, things which mean something. But I will NOT pander to the great retail god. So there.

Leave a Reply

